Discussion of movies and ReelThoughts topics

It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:10 pm

19 Rashomon 
Post 19 Rashomon
see james review

Tue Jul 21, 2009 1:34 am
Director

Post Re: 19 Rashomon 1950
The Outrage(1964), a remake of Rashomon, airs Monday on TCM.

Paul Newman is pretty over the top as a Mexican bandit. Also stars Edward G Robinson, Laurence Harvey & William Shatner. Its not bad.

Fri Aug 28, 2009 1:07 pm
I was persuaded/convinced by Rob and others to look into these films.

I started with Rashomon. I watched this film last week. Watched it this week with the commentary...and man, really is a great show. I'm still thinking about it.

One of my problems though is that I am a terrible writer. How do I describe what I was thinking through that film? How do I describe what I am still mulling about the film? How do I describe the images, the light and dark, the camera work, the acting...? I sit here and think, "This film was made in 1950...wow. Such great cinematography and storytelling...wait...how many films this old have I seen. There's probably older films than this with as much punch. Am I that naive?"

All I can really say is that I am still thinking about Rashomon.

What is the significance of the film's setting at Rashomon gate? Honor plays a huge role in this film......or does it? Are females really that conniving?

On to my next film...Chinatown.

Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:42 am
ram1312 wrote:
I was persuaded/convinced by Rob and others to look into these films.

I started with Rashomon. I watched this film last week. Watched it this week with the commentary...and man, really is a great show. I'm still thinking about it.