Discussion of movies and ReelThoughts topics

It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 8:55 pm

12 Sunrise 
Post Re: 12 Sunrise 1927
I watched Sunrise yesterday. I'm generally not a fan of silent movies, perhaps with the exceptions of physical comedy and atmospheric horror movies, but this was quite good. In fact, the beginning and end were excellent, but the film was sagging in the middle.

I have little knowledge of and only a limited interest in the technical aspects of filmmaking, but even for me some astonishing scenes were obvious like a very long tracking shot when the protagonist wanders through a swamp. I've never seen anything like it in a silent film. And there are other great scenes and images, which have made this a worthwile experience.

Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:01 am
Cinematographer

I agree with Unke on the structuring of this film. I was not too impressed by the middle section. The beginning and the ending were beautiful, filled with some of the best silent drama out there. The middle seems like it is there only to connect the two by showing how the two rediscover their love for one another. Yet at times, it seemed to stray from the point, especially when the couple go to the carnival.

Before Rob mentioned the technical achievements of this film, I will have to admit, I was kind of disappointed by this film. I do appreciate it more now, but it still seems like it is as high as it is on the list because of its use of new techniques. Which is, I suppose, part of what you have to consider when critiquing a movie, but its not the part that interests me.

Wed Jul 29, 2009 4:33 am
Hi Darthyoshi and Unke

I'm wondering if either of you listened to the commentary. I thought it was one of the very best I have heard and a great insight into the influence of the movie upon others.

It was done by a modern day cinematographer.