Discussion of movies and ReelThoughts topics

It is currently Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:46 pm

The Tiers Strategy: Ranking the 2013 Best Picture Nominees 
Cinematographer

Post The Tiers Strategy: Ranking the 2013 Best Picture Nominees
I've never tried out the tiers strategy before, but I am anything if adaptable. Here is my order:

TIER #1: THE UPPER TIER

1. Kathryn Bigelow's Zero Dark Thirty - As a work of art, Zero Dark Thirty is a gritty, complex portrait of the decade-long hunt for the world's most wanted man. The characters are bleak, but alternately fascinating. The direction is tight, with Kathryn Bigelow at the top of her game. The sound and visual effects are done stunningly. This is a film for the ages, one of the decade's finest for the time being.

2. Ben Affleck's Argo - Argo is an entertaining Hollywood-ized version of true events told with fine direction, some dark comedy, and one particularly exhilarating action sequence at the very end. People will argue about the liberties the film takes with true events from now until the end of days, but I still think that it marks Affleck's finest directorial effort yet.

3. Michael Haneke's Amour - God, this movie is so heartbreaking. Everything about it is perfect: from the performances of Emmanuelle Riva and Jean-Louis Trintignant to the haunting sequences that depict the undying love the two share. Think of it as an arthouse Hope Springs, except about a thousand times better.

TIER #2: THE MID-UPPER TIER