Discussion of movies and ReelThoughts topics

It is currently Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:24 am

Languages 
Director

Post Languages
Besides English, what languages do you speak? And/or which do you want to learn? Which do you find most interesting?

I've been learning Chinese for two years or so, and I'm still horrible at tone recognition/reproducing :? Besides the tones and the characters, Chinese really isn't a hard language--no gender, no conjugation, etc. but the tones and characters are hard.

Now I'm working on Indonesian. Indonesian is a far easier language--no characters, no tone. No gender, no past/present/future. Many words are derived rather logically from other words (for instance, tidur is sleep; tertidur is fall asleep; senang 'be happy', senangkan is 'make happy'). One other cool thing about Indonesian is that word order doesn't really matter--you can change around the order of words depending on what you want to emphasize.

I thought about learning Turkish, which is a very well-behaving agglutinating language.

But I think that if I pick up another language (after Chinese and Indonesian), it will be Spanish.

Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:35 am
Post Re: Languages
I speak German natively and did about 5 years of Spanish in High School. I was pretty good for a while, but I've forgotten a lot. These days I only remember the present tense and have forgotten the proper conjugation of several verbs.

Fri Feb 18, 2011 3:32 pm
Recuerdo algunas palabras en espanol (perdon la carencia de accentos y tildes), pero es dificil a mantener una conversacion. I, like Ed, had five years in high school and got a 4 on the AP test.

Sat Feb 19, 2011 12:15 am
I speak German, and can understand a bit of Italian, French and Spanish. Nowhere near able to speak them, though. Having had Latin in High School really helps with reading quite a few languages, though. much easier for me to work out written French, Italian, Spanish, etc. with my English and German plus the Latin base.